Bruce Fleming held off the charging bunch to claim victory in Echuca-Moama Cycling Club's annual Bendigo to Echuca 100km handicap race recently. 
Sixteen starters contested the event and were greeted with a howling wind at the race start in Huntly. 
Four bunches were in the race, with 20 minutes separating limit from scratch. 
Off limit was Bruce Fleming, Brent Ferguson and Will Kettle, these three riders had an eight-minute start over the second limit group of Ray Hamilton, Graeme Lockwood, Bruce Goldburg and Glen Kettle. 
Second scratch was made up of Craig Riddington, Wayne Saunders and Dave Fulton, while the scratch bunch consisted of Troy Griffith, Mick Hone, Tim Fraser and Jim Avard. 
The first casualty of the day was Bruce Goldburg, who slipped off the back just out of Huntly. 
Up front, Fleming was on a mission and by Tennyson had ridden off on Will Kettle and Ferguson. 
The scratch group had dropped off Avard, Mick Hone came to a stop at Kotta with a puncture putting him out of contention. 
Fleming held off the second bunch down Terricks Rd into a side wind to take out the race by over one minute.  Second place was claimed by Lockwood in a sprint finish from Glen Kettle.